Finding the Element

via Daily Prompt: Original

For some six months now, I’ve been working at a publishing house in Singapore. It’s a part-time stint because I have other commitments, but I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my time with this company.

I’ve been writing for years, and have been an editor for a magazine as well as an online portal. But for a while now, I’ve wanted to tap into book editing and proofreading. Hence this opportunity was a goal achieved.

I can tell you that it’s exciting to hold in your hand a crisp new book just out of the printers — even more so when you know that you were involved in its creation, no matter the size of the role. I can also tell you that a lot of hard work really does go into that one book.

One of the biggest challenges of a book editor is in determining whether a manuscript will ever see the light of day. A wall of shelves filled to the brim with books is inspiring and exhilarating! But that is also the very issue. There are just so many books out there with only so many subjects to cover.

The challenge then is in finding that element of originality within a familiar topic. What can this author offer that is different from the rest? What is the manuscript’s unique selling point? And when you find that element of innovation, that’s when it becomes the vision that hours of sweat, tired eyes and cramped hands are put into achieving.

Bringing this to personal application, I need to critique myself as an editor. In this year 2016, there are thousands of blogs, a lot of them well-established in their niches. Just take blogs on clean eating — it’s amazing how many good ones I’ve come across, and how many more I keep finding.

So what is the original that can offer?

Habit tracker: Week 2/4; Post 1/5

Leave a Reply

